INSPECTIONS

Forms

Downloads

Related pages

Inspections are organised for grading eligible stallions and mares.
Our registration and inspection procedures are in line with and accepted by Horse Sport Ireland and the other harmonised societies abroad.

PROVISIONAL INSPECTION VENUES 2024

Please find below the outline plan for inspection venues this year. Mare venue viability can only be confirmed after the applications have closed.

If venues become unviable due to applicants withdrawing, they may be merged with another venue in the region. Please watch our website for further announcements.  

For all remaining inspections in 2024, please apply before the closing date: 15 May 2024.

Mare applications are not complete until a form and payment has been received.

Stallion applications must have all the veterinary health checks and x-rays in addition to the application form and fee. All forms and guidance notes are available on our website:

INSPECTIONS – Irish Draught Horse Society (Great Britain) (idhsgb.org.uk) 

All venues below are open to mares which are eligible for Class 1 (including through the current Inspection Amnesty), Supplementary Grade-Up and Hornby Premium inspections.

The venue at Onley on 6 September is our second combined stallion and mare inspection of this year. This is also the only venue at present which offers athleticism assessments for mares for a possible Bronze Merit Award in show jumping. This venue is a great opportunity to have your mare inspected so that she will be eligible to compete in hand in Breed Classes at the National Championship Show the same weekend.       

We do not accept any late stallion entries. This is because of the time needed for the extensive administration required.

If mare entries are submitted late, they will be assigned to one of the venues planned around those applications received by the closing date of 15 May. We cannot set up new venues for late applicants.

DateLocationComments
Scotland: Confirmed venue: 25 June 2024Linlithgow, West Lothian  Grading and Hornby Premium inspections
North: w/c 2 September 2024  North LincolnshireGrading and Hornby Premium inspections
CarlisleGrading and Hornby Premium inspections
Yorkshire and/or Greater Manchester (venue TBC)Grading and Hornby Premium inspections
South, East and West: w/c 2 September TBC OR w/c 9 September South West England, venue(s) TBCGrading and Hornby Premium inspections
North and South Wales – venues TBCGrading and Hornby Premium inspections
East Anglia – venue TBCGrading and Hornby Premium inspections
Southern/South East England – venue(s) TBCGrading and Hornby Premium inspections
Confirmed venue: 6 September 2024 Stallions & maresOnley Grounds Equestrian Complex Combined Stallion & Mare inspections:Stallions and mares: Grading and athleticism assessments of mares. Hornby Premium inspections.

Inspection management team 6 May 2024

To be eligible for Class 1/Supplementary Grade-Up, mares must EITHER be:

  • a purebred Irish Draught with inspected parents;
  • a purebred Irish Draught with one or more uninspected parents (there is an  Amnesty in place between 2024 and 2026);
  • a traditionally-bred Sport Horse with one Class 1/RID parent and three Class 1/RID grandparents. The other quarter must be Weatherby’s registered TB, registered Connemara or traditionally-bred Sport Horse with documented pedigree.  

Venues also welcomes Class 1/RID mares with foals at foot by Class 1 or RID stallions for possible Hornby Premiums.

Full details, including the application form and phone contact details are all on our website at www.idhsgb.org.uk, or obtainable by email from the email address below.

The cost of inspection for grading at all mare inspection venues is £240 inc VAT.

The closing date is 15 May 2024, but for logistical reasons it would be very helpful if you could let us know now if you are considering applying for this venue.

Please email inspections@idhsgb.org.uk for more information.

Details of our other venues and inspection dates around the country will be posted as soon as they are confirmed. 

Inspection management team 18 April 2024

Inspection Amnesty Information – 5 March 2024

We were informed officially today that Horse Sport Ireland has issued the updated Studbook Rules, including provision for a new Inspection Amnesty. 

HSI’s press release is HERE or you can read the rules on the Irish Draught Studbook web page on their website.

The Amnesty is time limited. Please read HSI’s rules carefully, and if you have any questions, do contact us using the email address below. 

If you have a mare or stallion who is now eligible for inspection, please email inspections@idhsgb.org.uk with his or her name and your contact details. The closing date for all inspection applications is 15 May 2024. 

All our inspection guidance and forms will need to be updated in light of this information. We had no advance notice of this change, so please be patient for a few days while we do this work. We have received a lot of interest already, and we will respond to your emails and calls as soon as we can. 

Thank you for your understanding.